People

Leitch group – past and present

Dr Laura Kelly, expert phylogeneticist (2009-2012). Fritillaria genomics (Giant Genomes) and NGS analysis. l.kelly@kew.org. See her webpage.

Dr Monika Struebig, Lab Technician, expert in NGS technologies.  Previously worked on holocentric chromosomes in Luzulam.bozek@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Lu Ma (2012-2014), expert molecular cytogeneticist, with expertise in fluorescent in situ hybridisation (FISH), immunocytochemistry and artificial chromosome construction in plants. He is currently working as a Marie Curie Fellow on Giant Genomes.

Peter Day, Ph.D. student (2010-2013). Fritillaria genetics and phylogenetics, phylogenetic reconstruction methodologies. pdd@decisionsoft.com

Nian Wang, Ph.D. student (2011-2014). Betula hybridisation, polyploidy and speciation; genetics, phylogenetics, and evolution. wangnian@mail.kib.ac.cn

Brian Yap, Ph.D. student (2011-2014). Paphiopedilum taxonomy, phylogenetics, cytogenetics and evolution. yapjingwei@yahoo.com

Steven Dodsworth, Ph.D. student (2012-2015). Nicotiana genomics, evolution of genome structures, epigenetics and polyploidy. steven.dodsworth@qmul.ac.uk. See his webpage.

Maïté Guignard, Ph.D. student (2012-2015). Linking genome size evolution and macronutrient availability in freshwater and terrestrial ecosystems. m.s.guignard@qmul.ac.uk

Sarah Seco Leite, PhD student (2013-2017). The role of genome size in the efficiency of photosynthesis. s.leite@qmul.ac.uk

Wencai Wang, Ph.D. student (2012-2015). Epigenetics and genome structure evolution in gymnosperms. wencai.wang@qmul.ac.uk

Jeannine Marquardt, Ph.D. student (2012-2015). Hybridisation in bluebells.  jeannine.marquardt@qmul.ac.uk

Hannes Becher, postgraduate intern (2013-2014). Fluorescent in situ hybridisation (FISH) and genome analysis in Fritillaria.

Colleagues now elsewhere

Simon Renny-Byfield (2009-2012), worked on Nicotiana polyploidy, NGS sequence analysis and fluorescent in situ hybridisation. Now working with Jonathan Wendel in Iowa. s.byfield@mac.com

Dr Mike Chester (2007- 2010), worked on Allium telomeres, now working on Tragopogon polyploids with the Soltis’ group in Florida. mchester@ufl.edu

Dr Elizabeth McCarthy (2007-2010), worked on the influence of polyploidy on Nicotiana flower development.  Now working at the New York Botanical Garden. emccarth@gmail.com

We are particularly thankful for the close collaboration of our friends and colleagues in the labs run by: Dr Ales Kovarik, Dr Marie Angele Grandbastien, Dr Lily Ainouche, Professor Mark Chase, Professor Sandra Knapp, Dr Jiri Macas, Dr Ilia Leitch, Dr Mike Fay, Professor Doug Soltis, Professor Pam Soltis.